Sumo is an individual competition, but it is also a group battle.

All sumo wrestlers belong to a group called “Sumo-beya(相撲部屋)”. There are currently 45 sumo-beya, each of various sizes. Wrestlers belonging to the same sumo-beya do not confront each other at the tournament.

Therefore, the wrestlers in the sumo-beya to which the Yokozuna belongs will be more advantageous than the wrestlers in the sumo-beya without the Yokozuna.

Sumo ring、土俵

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *